PDA

View Full Version : Waistline and Bodice Questions

Meeker
09-27-2003, 11:13 PM
Hello, my name's Amy. I'm completely new to all this, but I believe I've decided to make peasant garb for my friend's Halloween wedding.

I'm very self conscience about the area below my waistline (ie it sticks out) and I was wondering what the full figure ladies here prefer. I'm also concerned about the flow of the design between the bodice and skirt.

-Should I make a bodice that has a little skirt, or will that make me look fatter? Like the one on the bottom left... http://store.sewingtoday.com/cgi-bin/mccallspatterns/shop.cgi?s.item.400004107=x&TI=40020&pageNum=3&M=&UK=30621005

-Should I make a normal bodice and wear a huge leather belt or sash?

-Should I make a one piece bodice and open skirt like the one on the left in Simplicity's 7756? Do they still make that pattern? http://www.simplicity.com/assets/7756/7756.jpg
I really like this one btw.

Or should I just not worry about it?

Thank you!

Gremco
09-27-2003, 11:47 PM
Do what ever you want. The Simplicity dress is still in print and if you like it, make it! The only dress that really makes you look bigger (or even prego) is the Italian Renaissance dresses (like on ever after) where the bodice ends right under the bust. I'd use a darker color for the underskirt because it hides tummys ever so nicely. I think I would actually leave off the apron as it emphasizes to area (and its not period correct, but I won't go garb nazi, I promise) and stick with a belt or sash. Hope you have fun with this! Congrats to your friend.

Ysobelle
09-28-2003, 12:12 AM
Or just make a long-line bodice that goes down below your waistline. That way, you also eliminate the possibility of its cutting you annoyingly at the waistline. Just make sure the boning goes all the way to the bottom of the bodice, too!

And welcome! We're all here to help!

Bonnie
09-28-2003, 08:01 AM