PDA

View Full Version : Garb Question for Tuxedo

Sandina
01-13-2005, 09:00 AM
Hi,
I am kind of new to the guild and have a garb question. I just finished reading the garb tips section in The Little Brown Book. My bodices are printed and my skirts and my tops and skirts are mostly bright colors. Do I have to purchase all new garb, or there other "colorful" wenches out there? Will I be looked down upon?
Sandina
IWG#2867

RichardMacHugely
01-13-2005, 09:10 AM
I can't answer for all the other Rogues, but as for myself, I don't look down upon brightly colored bodices. I just look down them period.

lauradake
01-13-2005, 09:46 AM
I don't attend faire... but this is MY general caveat:

Unless I am working cast, I'll wear whatever I darn well please.

If you're playing your hard-earned dollars to get into a Renaissance Festival, wear garb that YOU feel beautiful, sexy, and condifent in. Personally, I wear "wrong" colors all the time. My favorite bodice is fuschia (http://greycatdesigns.com/images/portfolio/photos/327f.jpg). (Which, I've later found, you can actually get this color using historical dying methods... but *I* didn't know that at the time! *grin*)

And you know what? When you FEEL beautiful and confident, people don't notice your GARB... they notice YOU. My bright pink bodice makes me feel great. And I can't tell you how many seasoned faire folks, cast, or performers who HAVEN'T noticed that I'm wearing hot pink, because they're not focused on the garb... they're focused on ME.

So wear what you like. :)

(Unless you're cast, then you have to play by their rules. *grin*)

Tink
01-13-2005, 11:48 AM
I work at Tux, so I have to stick to guidlines regarding colors and patterns, etc.

Patrons can wear anything they want as far as colors and etc goes though.

If you're looking to be truly period, then bright or deep colors are incorrect. The reasoning behind this is....