PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for outfit accessories

LadyStacy
01-10-2013, 05:03 PM
Ladies,

As I've mentioned earlier I'm new here and, as a newbie, I am in need of help.

For my first faire as a wench I have an outfit being made (read my bio for particulars) but I feel that I need to accessorize (what woman doesn't).

What should I go with as accessories?

Is there a preferred vendor that we go to?

Do I just search the web for anyone selling womens ren faire accessories?

Your help is encouraged and appreciated.

Thanks for your patience and understanding.

Lady Stacy

Buxom Wench
01-11-2013, 09:07 AM
When you say 'accessories', do you mean things like:

belt
pouches
hat
fan
drinking vessel

Those are a good start. If you don't want to wear alot on a belt (it can get weighty)
I would suggest a small basket, preferrably covered.
After that, the sky's the limit.
It all depends on what you want to carry with you through out the day.

The best advice I can suggest is, go to faire, see what others carry with them and then see if that's what you "really" need.
But be warned, accessories can take over your life. (spoken by a woman with almost too many).

LadyStacy
01-11-2013, 10:28 AM
Putting a bunch of stuff on a belt is not a problem for me. I was a cop years ago and had to carry a bunch of cop equipment on my belt. My wench gear shouldn't be anywhere as heavy.

The list you have looks like a great start. I just would put the drinking vessel toward the top of the list though :wink:

Thanks for your help.

Lady Stacy

Buxom Wench
01-11-2013, 11:44 AM
As for drinking vessels, you may want a small variety.

pewter - for hot days to also use to cool the skin (carefully!)
wood
plastic bottle covered in leather - light weight
ceramic
horn (with cover)

Depending on the day, you'd have a choice.
Also, you'll want one that also takes hot beverages in case it's cold on the day.
Hot tea was in my wood mug all day a few years ago when it snowed in Texas on opening day.